Video Games

Far Cry 6: Lost Between Worlds DLC Review

Far Cry 6’s previous DLCs may have kept the series’ past villains in the spotlight, but the latest expansion returns to familiar territory in another way: jumping sharks perfectly. Back in Dani Rojas’ shoes, Lost Between Worlds is all about an alien entity called Fai crash-landing on her Yara, creating numerous time rifts and portals to alternate dimensions. A web of interconnected semi-roguelite levels follows, free to play in any order. Essentially he found himself happily plowing through all six hours in one day, even though he felt like a watered-down version of the game. .

Much like how Far Cry 3 brought us the neon-dripping blood dragons, Far Cry 4 brought us the fantastic Valley of the Yeti, and Far Cry 5 brought us down to Mars, Lost Between Worlds does. We’re not afraid to wrap up Far Cry 6. It’s getting a little weird. Phi’s arrival scattered the five shards into another dimension. Fai needs your help to find those pieces, reassemble the ship, and get off the planet. Thankfully, the mere process of collecting shards should save the world from the apocalypse too – convenient, right? .There is none genuine article It was the explanation for the alien craft crashing into Yara, and the sooner I realized it didn’t matter, the more fun I had blasting through the DLC’s colorful, crystalline foes.

Collecting shards means walking through portals into a precarious twist in the real world called the Rift. Each rift looks like a cool, weird-world version of Yara, essentially self-contained levels, with their own unique qualities that bring new challenges. For example, one rift is plagued by periodic lightning strikes, another features swirls of doom that slowly descend from the clouds, and another is completely pitch black save for the pink glow of precious debris.

You can also collect glowing “Glint” shards as you venture through the chasm. If you die, you can use Glint to revive you at the start of the rift. Otherwise, death means having to redo the entire run at the start of Rift’s Web with Fai. It’s a failsafe that should be, but I actually didn’t die often throughout Lost Between Worlds, amassing a whopping 1,000 Glint and rolling the credits.

A smart progression structure greatly reduces repetition.

Once you’ve reached the end of the rift, you’ll have to choose between two portals (red or blue, of course) to progress further. Portals are simply gateways to two other random rift selections, and the rifts they lead to remain the same throughout the run. This provides a fun feeling of mixing things up when going through a new portal for the first time, but it also means knowing where it’s connected if you need to backtrack a lift later. Once unlocked, the map shows which portals connect to which lifts, so no more guesswork once you’ve visited each lift at least once.

Every time you collect a shard, Fai will give you new gear to speed up your Rift journey. For example, after bringing back her first shard, she offers her C4-style bombs that can be used to open shortcuts on subsequent Rift visits. Other gadgets include grappling hooks for scaling walls and skipping sections, and keys for opening previously locked doors that typically contain loot. This is a great progression structure because it dramatically reduces repetition when you don’t have to play the entire Rift again each time you visit.

Aside from that handful of permanent gear upgrades, any weapons and gadgets you collect along the way are lost each time you collect a shard or die trying. I like this feature because it forces you to adapt to what’s available instead of picking and switching between different guns. can continue to be

All rifts intersect and interconnect in different ways, so you don’t have to visit the same rift once or twice, even if you don’t want to visit it over and over again. For example, I absolutely hated chasms where you had to float from bubble to bubble and swim underwater while trying not to drown. Like most water levels, it was decidedly messy and tedious. That’s why I avoided it on all my other shard-gathering journeys. I really like the style of, you can play each scenario in any order you like.

The new color-coded enemies don’t really add much to combat.

Another big twist that Lost Between Worlds introduces is “Chromatic Combat”. All enemies in this DLC are pure blue or pure red crystallized humanoids. To deal damage, you have to change your bullet color on the fly and shoot enemies with matching colors. (But for some strange reason, the PC’s default keybinding for toggling colors is ‘L’, which was uncomfortably inconvenient until I switched to a mouse thumb button.)

Unfortunately, this color change idea doesn’t really help much. Because enemies always seem to spawn in the same place every time you visit the Rift, and swapping them out is as easy as pressing a button. This is especially true since there are only a handful of real enemy types between standard assault rifle users, snipers, melee rushers, and shield machine gunners. I preferred better encounter designs or more creative enemy AI over adding extra color-changing layers to combat.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button