Video Games

How to Play the Tomb Raider Games in Chronological Order

The Tomb Raider has a chartered history, with Lara Croft digging through ruins and tombs around the world. Overcoming all the obstacles set in her path, Lara has elevated herself into the exclusive and admired pantheon of iconic video game protagonists.

With a new Tomb Raider currently in development at Crystal Dynamics and a new Lara adventure to go with it just around the corner, we’ve created a chronological list of all Tomb Raider games, so those interested should start their caving adventures first. You can start (or resume) from

jump to:

How many Tomb Raider games are there?

there is a sum of 19 Tomb Raider game These games are split into three different timelines, each different from the other and offering different plotlines and slightly different spins for Lara and her supporting cast.

14 of these games were released for home consoles, 6 were also supported on handheld portable consoles, and 6 were supported on mobile devices. Tomb Raider: The Prophecy, Lara Croft and the Guardian of Light, Lara Croft and the Temple of Osiris, Lara Croft Go, and Lara Croft: Relic Run are all stand-alone titles and are therefore not included in these lists.

Tomb Raider games in chronological order

If you want to chronologically go through all the Tomb Raider games, be aware that there are actually three different timelines you can play through.

First Timeline – Original Saga

1. Tomb Raider (1996)

The first-ever Tomb Raider title revolved around Lara being hired by industrialist Jacqueline Natra to find a mysterious artifact called the Scion of Atlantis. After finding all three of her fragments of Scions scattered around the world, Lara is betrayed by Natra and must face off with her on a monster-filled volcanic island.

2. Tomb Raider: Curse of the Sword (2001)

A Game Boy Color-exclusive sequel to the Game Boy Color version of the original Tomb Raider, this adventure sees Lara track down a mysterious sword, and the long-dead Madame Pavoe is resurrected from the underworld, using her dark magic to See you try to destroy it… Conquer the world.

3. Tomb Raider II (1997)

This time, Lara is looking for a magical weapon once wielded by a Chinese emperor: the Dagger of Xi’an. A cult leader named Marco Bartoli seeking a dagger with the magical ability to turn its owner into a dragon.

4. Tomb Raider III (1998)

In the third mainline installment of the original saga, Lara begins searching for the Inferda Stone, one of four crystalline artifacts created thousands of years ago from the remains of a meteorite. We find the villainous Dr. Willard trying to use the statues to speed up the evolutionary process. She sets out to find her three remaining artifacts before the entire planet mutates.

5. Tomb Raider: The Last Revelation (1999)

In The Last Revelation, the Egyptian god of chaos, Set, is unknowingly freed by Lara while exploring an Egyptian tomb. As Set and his army wreak havoc on Cairo, Lara, with the help of Semerket, strives to summon the god Horus, the last hope to quell this world-ending threat.

6. Tomb Raider: Chronicles (2000)

After The Last Revelation’s ambiguous ending, Butler Winston and other Lara’s friends tell the story of her historic adventures in her memory. The classic chronicle of delving into the catacombs of Rome, battling Russian naval submarines, and exploring an island haunted by demonic forces has put to stone how well-traveled and skilled Lara is, but she’s really ugly. Is it gone?

7. Tomb Raider: Angel of Darkness (2003)

Lara is accused of murdering her former teacher, Werner von Kroy, and explores Paris and Prague to uncover her name and try to solve the murder.The last survivor of the Lux Veritatis Society, Kurtis Trent has been stalking Lara and hiding a deep dark secret about his true nature.

Second Timeline – Legends of the Tomb Raider

1. Tomb Raider Anniversary (2007)

A remake of the original 1996 Tomb Raider title, Lara once again seeks out the Scions of Atlantis. With redesigned puzzles and physics, there has been a shift from Item Her Collection and Pull Her Switch (both common in the original title) to physics-based puzzles and environmental set pieces.

2. Tomb Raider: Legend (2006)

This title serves as a reboot and rethinking of Lara’s origins. She scoots the globe in search of her legendary sword Excalibur, desperate to find it before her ex-girlfriend Amanda and her Evert defeat her.

3. Tomb Raider: Underworld (2008)

In the third installment of the Legends trilogy, Underworld, Lara is seen searching for Mjolnir. Mjolnir serves as the ancient key to Helheim, the realm of the dead. Exploring the ruins of various cultures and mythical underworlds, Lara once again confronts the villainous Natra, who is searching for Mjolnir himself.

Third Timeline – Survivor Trilogy

1. Tomb Raider (2013)

In Lara Croft’s new, more gritty take, her first expedition to find the lost Kingdom of Yamatai goes awry, leaving her stranded on an isolated and hostile island. Confronting the cult of the Solari Brotherhood, Lara must stop the Ascension Rites from progressing and prevent the succession of her bloodthirsty, legendary Sun Queen from being chosen.

2. Rise of the Tomb Raider (2015)

In Rise of the Tomb Raider, Lara explores Siberia in search of the fabled city of Kitezh while fighting the Trinity, a paramilitary force that constantly crosses paths and butts heads with Lara. As they both sprint to rediscover her Kitezh, will the Kingdom’s legendary immortal guardians, the Deathless Ones, reveal more than just a myth?

3. Shadow of the Tomb Raider (2018)

In Shadow of the Tomb Raider, the third and final installment of the Survivor Trilogy, Lara treks across the Americas to find the city of Paititi before a Mayan apocalypse engulfs the entire planet. With a giant Yarshee and the ever-present Trinity on her back, will she make it before it’s too late?

How To Play All Tomb Raider Games By Release Date

  • Tomb Raider (1996)
  • Tomb Raider II (1997)
  • Tomb Raider III (1998)
  • Tomb Raider: The Last Revelation (1999)
  • Tomb Raider (Game Boy Color, 2000)
  • Tomb Raider Chronicles (2000)
  • Tomb Raider: Curse of the Sword (Game Boy Color, 2001)
  • Tomb Raider: Prophecy (GBA, 2002)
  • Tomb Raider: Angel of Darkness (2003)
  • Tomb Raider: Legend (2006)
  • Tomb Raider: Anniversary (2007)
  • Tomb Raider: Underworld (2008)
  • Lara Croft and the Guardian of Light (2010)
  • Tomb Raider (2013)
  • Lara Croft and the Temple of Osiris (2014)
  • Lara Croft: Relic Run (2015)
  • Lara Croft Go (2015)
  • Rise of the Tomb Raider (2015)
  • Shadow of the Tomb Raider (2018)

What’s next for Tomb Raider?

Between Unreal State At an April 2022 event, Crystal Dynamics officially revealed that development has begun on an all-new Tomb Raider game. Details are slim, but it has been confirmed to use Unreal Engine 5 and will be published by Amazon Games. Crystal Dynamics twitter This new adventure is “a continuation of Lara Croft’s story”, hinting that this new title may not be a reboot, but a continuation of the Survivor trilogy that concluded with 2018’s Shadow of the Tomb Raider. There is a possibility that

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button